All Things Jane Austen, My New Hobby

Writing Letters-Regency Style and Book by & on Dear o’ Jane

It has been quite some time since I truly last wrote an entry to this publicly viewed eruption of my random thoughts and after reading some other entries from other people, I felt inspired to write on my new hobby: All things Jane…Jane Austen that is.

I have always had a love for the era’s of Elizabethan, Georgian, Regency, Victorian…but more and more I love that of the Regency era, fashion, and woman. I love the more understated era of the simple but strong woman like those in most of Jane’s books.

Since I was little, I have wanted the simple but still touch of elegance in dresses, manners, the dances, the language, the courtship, the love. I hoped growing up that there would be somewhere a city that would dress in that era, and run the town in that period just so I could visit and dress up, maybe secretly thinking, I’ll meet some dashing young man…O the naivety of young minds.

I have loved buying my Calligraphy pens, parchment paper, nibs and ink to write letters, diary entries, anything I could think of just as an excuse to use them and write!

Just recently I picked up my writing again and have written a few friends, sealed with wax and the works. I remember my best friend was stunned that the Post Man delivered the letter without an envelope. She had researched how they folded letters in Regency era and sealed them.

Books…O how I LOVE buying books…now if only I loved reading books as much as I love buying them!

Recently I’ve been adding different versions of Jane Austen’s novels. I also bought some of the BBC adaptations of her novels. What has become my absolute favorite story but mainly due to the 2007 BBC version is “Persuasion”. I absolutely love Miss Anne Elliot and Captain Fredrick Wentworth’s story! Before one of my favorites 2 years ago was “Mansfield Park” but recently in the past year, the more and more I explore the story “Persuasion”, the more and more I fall in love with it.

 Watching Anne write away in her journal teases me into writing with an inked pen in my own journal but I think of me writing multiple pages and needing to wait for the ink to dry before I move on to the next. How did they do it back then? Writing away in a fury and not being able to turn the page in your journal or for a story due to the wet ink. What if you needed to hide your journal in a hurry due to an unexpected visitor who just invited themselves into your quarters?

Random thoughts that pass my mind when I watch them live their day to day.

That’s where it has gone now, beyond the surface of the stories and further into the realistic nature of that period, the way they lived. The everyday inconveniences of their time and yet the gentile nature and character and manners of those days that I wish we stayed integral to.

The men…yes, they still had their share of scoundrels back then as well but finding a good, well mannered, loyal, genuine man of valor who actually cherished women and treated them each as they should, was far easier then than it is now. There were far more of those then, than there are now. Now it’s the exception when back then it was the rule.

Jane Austen was surrounded by the ridiculous stress of society and a woman’s duty to sit and wait for things to happen, while men lived adventures and chose when they wanted to make a woman stop waiting. Granted there are still many other factors to why I am grateful to have been born in this era but truly wish there were certain aspects untainted from those eras that could have been translated to our day and time.

Since those hopes are not realistic, I as well as many others turn to books. Many specifically Jane Austen books. A momentary escape to a world more appealing than our own. A time more enchanting even if just a story.

I love old books. Old, hard cover books with that vintage feel to them. I’d love to build a full built-in wall bookshelf and stack them with books and vintage, artistic decor.

::happy sigh:: One day…

Some books other than Jane Austen novels I’ve been reading lately are:

The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen” by Syrie James

and…

“I was Jane Austen’s best friend” by Cora Harrison

“I was Jane Austen’s best friend” has become one of my favorite books. I fell in love with Jane Austen’s cousin “Jenny Cooper” and the journey she takes during her stay at the Austen’s. Her and Jane are very young still. Jane’s 15 and Jenny is 17. I highly recommend it to any Jane Austen fan who wants to read a sweet charming story with the familiarity of loving characters we know well; Jane Austen spunky at 15, Cassandra, their brothers, Mr. and Mrs. Austen and even a Lefroy or two.

I am still in the beginning of “The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen” but hope it to be of great delight. It journeys through a possible great love, greater than Tom Lefroy. The “what if’s” for Jane. After all of all people, we all wished Jane could have experienced a great love. This book may be the closest thing to it. I will update when I can!

Well, done rambling about Jane Austen and such. I will leave you with this.

For all you Janeites, enjoy and happy reading 🙂

About hopesreadywriter

I am a dreamer, a seeker of hope, I find magic, beauty & fear in the night sky and long to dance in the sunlight. Life has not been easy but most would never know cause I hide my heart & tears well. So here I am, wishing to release, discover, mend & find but only writing helps release the voice within that fools herself into believing, "she'll get through these things alone..." Here's pieces of me for my own release...

Posted on May 10, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

